They’re called ILLUSIONS, Michael. [The 2013 Room Clean, pt. 2]

image

A magician’s bag. The only props here that I actually used were the Hot Rods.

From top, l to r: A set of cards that are a mystery to me; a chain with a lock that is also a mystery; thumb tip with scarf; sponge bunnies. More mysterious cards; a close-up Hot Rod; a similar Hot Rod-style prop. Even more mysterious cards; a set of Chinese linking rings I never learned; yet another Hot Rod.

My years as a kid magician were a particularly weird but particularly profitable period in my theatrical career. I don’t talk about being a magician often because then people say “Do a magic trick!” and I remember basically none of my old tricks. But it did culminate in me being on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno in February of 2000.

I can’t decide whether I hope that video will work or whether I hope it won’t. It was one hell of an experience for a twelve-year-old, I’ll tell you that.

One thought on “They’re called ILLUSIONS, Michael. [The 2013 Room Clean, pt. 2]

Leave a Reply

