A brief break from banging my head against walls

Dean Winchester: Of course I'm fine! [internally screaming]Do you have any idea how much work it takes to get a project really fully integrated into the Internet?

I’m currently working as a producer’s assistant and Jack-of-all-trades for Burmer Music’s Dante’s Inferno: The Ballet. (Check out our website! Like us on Facebook!) A whole lot of what I’m doing is very similar to what I did working at Alaska Theatre of Youth (like them on Facebook too!): website maintenance, Facebook, mailing lists, merchandise management, a certain level of production management.

The difference here is that, because Burmer Music is a fairly new company, I’m building the digital infrastructure from scratch. That means signing up for MailChimp, creating a Facebook page for Dante’s Inferno (seriously go like us on Facebook!), signing up for eBay and PayPal, attempting to navigate eBay’s stupidly Byzantine interface (I just want to add a listing to my store not my main seller’s account, why is that so hard, eBay?! And what happened to my 150 free listings a month?!), and so on and so on and so on.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m getting paid and I like the project! It’s just so much time-consuming fiddly work, and everything wants everything else to be integrated, and it’s just — Sisyphean.

Wait. Wait. Is this the tenth circle of Hell? The one reserved for Millennials who take pictures of their food and crosspost every thought that passes through their heads on all their social media networks? OH GOD.

3 thoughts on “A brief break from banging my head against walls

    1. I mean, just, OF COURSE this is my torment. Verifying your identity and navigating through unintuitive menus and Help sections for all time. Why, this is Hell, nor am I out of it!

Leave a Reply

