Calling out good behavior: Halloween edition

Me, grinning

This picture has basically nothing to do with anything except insofar as it’s how I looked tonight. I was “Batman: Year One”-era Selina Kyle, theoretically.

I feel like I spend a lot of time calling out bad behavior and systems of oppression, so here’s a quick post to celebrate a random dude who behaved really well.

I went out dancing with friends tonight to a popular and upscale Capitol Hill club, all dressed up and made up for Halloween. Eventually I went to the bar to get a drink. While I was waiting to catch the bartender’s eye, a guy leaned on the bar next to me.

“Hey!” He pointed at his shirt, where he was wearing a HELLO MY NAME IS “Drinking Buddy” sticker. “Wanna be my drinking buddy?”

“Oh!” I said. “Sorry, I already have some.”

“Oh, okay,” he said. “I had to ask!” And then he offered me a high-five, and I gave it to him, and he went back to his friends.

Which was basically the classiest attempt at a pick-up I saw from a guy all night long, and by far the most graceful acceptance of rejection I’ve seen in a long time. So well done, Drinking Buddy! I hope you found someone nice to drink with.

Happy Halloween weekend. May all your celebrations have classy people and good music.

Leave a Reply

